Theater!!!!! really?

A Conversation I once had……

Them: so you’re not going to music school anymore right?

Me: No I found that I did not have the passion for it that I used to have

Them: Well, at least it’s out of your system now and you can go get a real education

Me: (Blank stare)

Them: What?

Me: Why wouldn’t music be a real education?

Them: You know you’d be stuck at some bar waiting table, and teaching music during the day. No way to spend a life. So look at it likes it’s a good thing!!!

Me: I wasn’t going to be a teacher, I was there as a performance major.

Them: So it would have been worse then

Me 😦 maybe they think I’m being sarcastic) No I don’t think worse

Them: Well anyway, what are you going to school for now?

Me: Theater

Them: Oh….

Me: Yep I’m really excited about it. I’m going to be a costume designer

Them: So what do you do with that?

Me: I’ll be training chimpanzees to land lunar shuttles in outer space…it’s a great program

Them: so you’ll be sewing and stuff?

Me: And stuff….

And that was the moment I realized that the world thinks I’m a giant tool for going to college for the arts.

So World, I have three things I’d like to tell you about going to school for theater.

Please stop telling me I’ll never make any money doing what I love.

Because in one year after graduations I have already proven you wrong and that’s not the point of doing what you love anyway. Nuff said

Stop writing off the profession of the Theater as nothing more than an excuse to sleep all day and play all night.

Most theater techs will tell you that we actually don’t sleep at all. During the production processes you are lucky if you are getting 3 or 4 hours of sleep a day, tops. 

Theatrical Logic:

In is down, down is front. Out is up, up is back.
Off is out, on is in. And of course, left is
right and right is left. A drop shouldn’t and a
‘block and fall’ does neither. A prop doesn’t and
a cove has no water. Tripping is OK. A running
crew rarely gets anywhere . A purchase line buys
you nothing. A trap will not catch anything. A
gridiron has nothing to do with football. Strike
is work (in fact, a lot of work). And a green
room, thank God, usually isn’t. Now that you’re
fully versed in theatrical terms, break a leg.
But not really.

Don’t think that because I have a theater degree, that I am an actor

One of the head’s of Entertainment at the Walt Disney World Parks and Resorts said this in a class I took while working with the company,

 

“Without a technical staff, actors would be miming, naked, standing in one place, in the mud, in the dark. And that would be boring.”

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Flounder (not kidding, that was the guys name)

 

There is so much more that happens behind the scenes than anyone knows about. There were days that I would spend 13 to 14 hours straight working on a show at this place. I loved every minute of it but  it’s very hard work, and a lot of the times it dangerous. Dyeing in hot vats, industrial sergers that can take your fingers off, hanging from a harness focusing fixtures from a cat walk that’s three story’s up. Putting hundreds of pounds of weights on a fly system trying to balance an electric or drop. You know you are in the stage workers union when you lost a digit in the name of the show.

 

So world, give us in the arts a break. Next time you meet an art major or a theater major try not to make light of their chosen dream. Trust me when I say we are doing what we love and are passionate about and it’s not because we love the hours or the money!

 

One last quote,

 

You reach a point where you don’t work for money.
Walt Disney

 

I would rather entertain and hope that people learned something than educate people and hope they were entertained.
Walt Disney

 

OK, so that was two

this site also sums up why its awesome to be a Theater major
OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

LadyRomp

Inspirational Blog for Women

randomvisitations

I have no idea what it'll be about. Random craziness? Sporadic updates and grammar mistakes? You decide

Eldon

We specialize in awkward.

journeyofjordannaeast

From Ava J. Easterby, the person, to Jordanna East, the author...

to know me is to love me<3

You Want To Know Me!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Musings With 305

“An artist is a creature driven by demons. He doesn’t know why they choose him and he’s usually too busy to wonder why.” - William Faulkner

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

